Monday, May 16, 2016

Get a car color that matches your personality, and then match it with colored HID lights! ‪#‎auto‬ ‪#‎automotive‬ ‪#‎headligh

http://www.today.com/home/blue-red-or-silver-find-out-what-your-car-color-t81381

Saturday, May 16, 2009

Cleveland Tournament!

Pictures from the Cleveland Tournament!!! Inoshita Sensei's Clinic! I thought it was inside the hospital, i didnt' realize he has his own building. That van on the right is the one we drove up to Cleveland and back in.
This is Mark, I was just showing him and Hiro-san my DSi on the drive up.

This is mark in DSi-added sunggasses...



This is the gym where teh tournament was held... well a part of it anyway.


More gym

More gym

even more gym

MORE GYM!!!!

....

This is Hiro-san, he's really cool. We get along well and I practice my Japanese with him a bit.


This is Herb, he's also cool. Like me, he does various martial arts and so understands where I'm coming from more often than not.

This is during an actual match, I had some time before my first fight that I didnt' have to be in armor, so I snapped a few pictures since I couldn't get my own fight.



This is Mark in armor, I took this just before I got suited up for my first fight.


This is... I forgot his name... anyway he was just observing, he's only been taking it a few weeks. We have him in armor now, though.

This is the gym where the tournament was held from the outside.

This is me before my tournament bouts, I got ready just after I took this.

This is a picture of Hiro hitting my do... why I took it, nobody knows!


Here's Herb and White playing around, I'm not sure what Dojo White is from, but he's pretty cool.
This is Paul, he drove up seperately from us to help with the tournament stuff. I dont' know what exactly because I wasn't paying attention, i was excited about fighting and sake.

This is me all armored up!!! Get ready to fight, Ryan!!!
This is Inoshita-sensei, he's a bigwig, so he was doing tournament stuff most of the time. He took time to watch my last fight in the semi-finals, though! Thanks sensei, I appreciated that.

Greg Lyons... this picture represents him well. I'd love to spar him in open hand martial arts...

Here's before I changed at the tournament. Sleepy, but ready to rock!
Here's me after the tournament... sooo tired, but so happy.

Someone's bogu all wrapped up, here's how it looks when it's inside the bag.

My tournament t-shirt and my legs! More to come of the shirt.
It says nature on the back, it was the theme for this year's tournament. Very appropriate for a druid don't you think?

Thursday, April 23, 2009

Amusement

It amuses me immensely that people take strong stances on stupid things. Take gay marriage for instance... unless you're gay or are friends with a gay person, why in the holy fuck do you care? I care so little that when the topic comes up I literally say "who cares" and don't bother presenting my point of view. I'm not even going to present it now, because it doesn't matter, it has nothing to do with me. Why do Americans LOVE to stick their nose in everyone else's business so much? It's incredibly annoying. Things like abortion are similar, I'll never be in that situation, so why do I care? People who are actually dealing with the issues are the ones who should make the call. Women and men who have either kept a baby, aborted one, or are considering one or the other are the only ones qualified to make that decision. Do I have an opinion... of course... do I think my opinion is well-informed... not in the least, so I'll mind my own business. I have no idea what emotions are attached to that kind of thing, so why should I have any say in it? Furthermore, why in this "free" country, and I use the term with strong sarcasm, do people want to force their morals on others? There's not a single law in a truely free country that should have anything to do with morality. Laws exist to protect people, if a law doesn't protect someone, it's pointless. I'm not saying abortion laws don't protect people mind you, they may or may not, it doesn't matter. What I'm saying is that things like the death penalty are stupid things to debate. If that person has murdered 12 people in cold blood, then that person being alive is a threat to us all, so fucking kill his crazy ass. As far as HIM being protected, breaking a law voids many of your rights, so that's not even a consideration. Any moron who thinks that murderers have rights needs to be moved to an isolated town. Then we can release all of the murderers into that town, because it violates their rights to be locked up... problem solved.

Monday, April 20, 2009

OMG!

I'm in so much PAIN! I guess that's what a weekend of fun will do to you. I had no idea until just now, I fell asleep last night, I think I slept like 16 hours or so. I felt fine last night, just my feet and right wrist were a little sore, now I'm in so much pain it's hard to move. Ah but it's glorious pain, I know I'll be stronger for it. Anyway, on to the tournament!

We arrived Friday evening and had a long long practice until late Friday night, they provided our dinner, which was some crappy mexican food, there's no Japanese catering service in Cleveland I suppose. We went back to the hotel and I called Ting Ting very breifly, but I had to go to bed cuz we were waking up at 6:30.

Saturday! The day of the tournament section! We woke up around 6:30 and went downstairs to get our breakfast from the hotel, as soon as we were all done eating we went back to the gym where the tourament is being held. My division was one of the first to fight! Of course we had a two hour practice before we even started the tournament... man these guys like to practice. Anyway, I was SOOOO excited when it came time to fight. I ended up making the semi finals, although I won two of my matches without scoring a real point. One match I forced my opponent out of bounds twice, and we were already on overtime, so I won. The other one we used up all of our overtime as well, so the judges called me the winner because I had control of the match more or less. I finally lost on another close fight. This time was also an overtime match, but I did something stupid and stepped out of bounds once, so when overtime ran out, the judges called the other guy the winner. I was very sad that my fighting was over. Although at the same time my wrist was hurting, hahahaha. Too much fighting. Anyway, I spent the rest of the time before lunch watching some of my teammates fight. They all ended up losing their first fight, so I was bored most of this time, only getting to see a couple of fights of people I know. Lunch was a bento (japanese box lunch) and it was DELICIOUS. Man I love Japanese food, I was already so happy from fighting, so this really made my day. After lunch there was only the highest ranks and the team battles left. The highest ranks are all in one division. I saw one team member lose his first fight, but Hiro-san made it really far, he won his court and fought in the semi finals. Poor guy was tired, but he's damned good, I have to get way better than him. We had some crappy american food for dinner, stupid catering again. Then we got completely wasted on sake, I wanted to call Ting Ting during this time, but I didn't want Ting Ting to hear me drunk (I sound slow and stupid when drunk). They ran out of sake except for the special bottles they brought just for the sensei, so I thought I was done. Then walking back Hiro-san he waved me over using a glass of sake as a lure! So I sat with Hiro-san and Herb-san and finished off a bottle of sake for Hir0-san's ex-sensei who was apparently finished. I was so drunk at this point that I was aware we were sitting in a circle with many people, but I could only see a couple of people away. I'm not even sure where that sensei was sitting. We got back to the hotel kinda late and went to sleep.

Sunday was yet another practice before the testing. I was a bit nervous about the testing and made a couple of mistakes. There was an Iaido seminar after that, it lasted hours and hours before they posted the testing results. I'm very dissappointed because I only got yonkyuu, and I know I should have made nikyuu, but it's only my own fault because I looked like an idiot out there. They were clear about where to stand or how many times to do things, so even if I weren't nervous, I would have made many of the same mistakes again, it was rather annoying. Honestly I'm also a bit annoyed at my teachers for not warning me ahead of time, I dunno how they expect me to know that you only do four of everything in the testing rather than 5 like normal. I just LOVE making myself look like I have no idea what I'm doing. Anyway, we left... what time did we leave? I don't remember, but we got to Columbus around 6:30PM or so and stopped at a Japanese restaurant... HIBACHIS! It was delicous, the perfect way to top off the day. i'm glad we hadn't eaten anything since breakfast at the hotel, it let me eat sooo much Japanese food. I talked to Ting Ting a bit when I got home, but she had to go cuz she was at school, I knew I had to go to sleep soon, though, because my body was exhausted. I fell asleep not too awfully long after taking a hot bath and now here I am, just waking up. Time to go find some food, I'm starving.

Friday, April 17, 2009

So Tired

Ugh, this is hard to keep up with. I've been working my ass off getting ready for Cleveland and I'm still FAR from ready. I've been sleeping a couple of hours here and a couple there, no solid sleep for many days. I also have a blister on my left hand, I have no idea how I'm going to deal with that. I'll bring one of my wrist wraps and use it on my hand if the blister gets too much worse, which I'm sure it will, since I can already see blood in it. That's what I get for overtraining. Ah well. Three solid days of kendo, this will be a blast regardless. Hope Ting Ting can forgive me for my selfishness, haven't had a lot of time for her lately. I'll take lots of pictures with my DSi while I'm in cleveland, that won't make up for it, but at least she can experience little flashes of my time there.

Friday, April 10, 2009

Damn

Got a bit of a long day today, I'm supposed to have a kendo seminar from 1-4 PM, but my freaking work, AS ALWAYS, scheduled something with just a few days warning at that EXACT FUCKING TIME. I have an orientation starting at 1:30 PM, hopefully it'll be less than an hour and I can get back to the seminar >_< It's a very important simenar. People at school keep asking me why I'm in a bad mood, it's been like that for two weeks! Why does everyone think I'm in a bad mood? Am I really acting differently? I dunno, all I'm thinking about lately is my tournament, maybe I'm just focused and people mistake that for being mean, because I'm usually attentive and silly?